Repurposing Bad Products

I recently wrote an article for Karen on Makeup and Beauty Blog (not yet published) about giving new uses to products that for some reason, just don’t work.  Here’s a preview:

We’ve all done it.  Bought that product, tried it, tested it, hated it, forgot about it, stuffed it in a drawer, a bag.  A few months later, we find it, only to think “What a waste of money.”  Was it that the foundation was too dark?  The blush too intense?  The fragrance too strong?

Don’t let these products go to waste!  Let’s cover some creative ways to repurpose beauty buys that for some reason, just didn’t work out.

So.  What are your tips for giving new life to that expensive item that just doesn’t cut it for normal use?

  1. #1 by beautygeek0 on April 1, 2011 - 21:47

    I sent you a question about how to make a thick cream blush easier to blend…

    -beautygeek0

  2. #3 by Windie on April 6, 2011 - 16:09

    Several options:
    Give it to a friend that may like it
    Mix, layer or dilute with other times
    If nothing works, throw it away and call it a loss. On the bright side, there snow room for something new.

  3. #4 by Silva on April 20, 2011 - 15:31

    Well, depends on the product. If it’s a foundation that’s a shade too dark, I could use it for contouring, or mix it with a foundation that’s too light. If the color of the blush is what I don’t like, I mix it with other colors. And if the worst comes to the worst and I just don’t like the product, I give it to my sister. Kinda funny, but whatever doesn’t work for me works for her and vice versa 😉

  4. #5 by Amanda on April 23, 2011 - 20:21

    I was just wondering about this the other day. I bought a lipstick (MAC, Hot Gossip), and it’s a little too garish on my pale, freckled skin—even though I tried it on in the store and thought it looked okay. I think the problem is that the lipstick is cool, and my skin is warm. I put a little foundation under it the other day, and that toned down the brightness, but the color’s still not exactly right for my skin. I might just have to give this away to my cool-toned sister, but if there’s any way to salvage this (i.e., give it a warmer tone), I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

