What’s Your Current Skin Woe?

Well, since my skin has been clearing up rather nicely since I upped my dosage of BP, Adapalene, and Soladyn, I guess the biggest thing I have to complain about now is my persistent and excessive oilyness.  Seriously, if sebum is ever established as a fossil fuel alternative, I could set up a small refinery on my nose and make some serious bank. I’ve been attempting to combat this by trying out different powders and setting oversprays (currently trying out OCC Skin Clear, which I will probably mention in my video tomorrow…)

So, what awful thing is your skin plaguing you with these days?  Dryness, ruddiness, broken capillaries?  And how are you dealing with it?  Dish!

  1. #1 by Tessa on March 26, 2011 - 09:51

    I’m not sure if this counts, but my scalp. This past week it’s been an oily mess. It’s my fault because I havn’t been doing anything about it. Any suggestions ?

    • #2 by finallyindigo on March 26, 2011 - 09:54

      Apple Cider Vinegar Wash. Wash hair with a very mild shampoo, then take 1-3 cups (depending on how much hair you have) of organic (this is important… the nonorganic stuff has some pretty awful preservatives that can wreak havoc on your skin) ACV and pour it through your hair. Massage into the scalp, and along the entire length of your hair. Leave on for 3-5 minutes, and rinse with tepid to cold water. Finish with a light conditioner.

      Your hair should feel clean, look shiny, and your scalp should be clear of all oily residue.

  2. #3 by Emma on March 26, 2011 - 10:21

    It’s driving me insane, but I’m in the middle of a massive breakout on my back. This is probably TMI but there aren’t many pimples. But the one that are there are huge, red and painful.
    Breakouts on my face I know how to deal with, but on the back? no clue. Help!

    • #4 by finallyindigo on March 26, 2011 - 10:25

      I mean, a BP gel or cream is your best bet, but you also risk bleaching any fabric you lean up against…

      Have you tried any medicated body washes?

      If you can get someone to do it for you, applying Milk of Magnesia as a spot treatment should help reduce the swelling and redness, and if that doesn’t work, Pepto Bismol is a semi-harsh, but often very effective spot treatment. Just apply either with a cosmetic sponge or cotton ball and let it dry into an opaque layer (best to do this overnight).

  3. #5 by bethany on March 26, 2011 - 22:15

    scars. and dark circles under my eyes : ( my eyes are already somewhat deep set so there is some crazy darkness when I don’t wear makeup

  4. #6 by eLLen on March 28, 2011 - 22:02

    The area under my nose! I’m not even blowing it a lot, but it gets super dry and flaky.

    All I can really do is put some petroleum jelly on it obsessively, since it gets dry, and thus very itchy, very easily.

    It’s gross when it gets flaky. The main thing I do for that is put the petroleum jelly on, and after like a minute, I can rub the flakes off, with a lesser chance of the skin peeling up to rawness, which it’s more prone to do if I don’t put on some petroleum jelly beforehand.

  5. #7 by catsuperhero on March 28, 2011 - 22:48

    Mine would be the awful occasional zit. My once-amazing skin has been on a roller coaster since my son was born 15 months ago, and I’ve been trying everything to keep the breakouts under control. Thanks to my Clarisonic and two kinds of face wash, I’m nearly back to normal…except for the occasional giant pimple. The kind that you can put concealer on, but doing so is just shouting, “I have a zit here, it’s under the makeup.” Good times. I’m doing my best to keep to the regimen, wash my pillowcases, soak problem areas in black tea, and try not to get worked up over all this. Still: I never had skin issues as a teenager, so it feels especially wicked to have them at 27.

  6. #8 by Amista on March 28, 2011 - 23:27

    Mine would have to be occasional acne ever since my daughter was born 3 years ago. I resorted to Proactiv, which worked, but it was bleaching every towel and shirt i own if even a little drop got on it and it felt too harsh on my face. Im now using LUSH’s Angels On Bare Skin cleanser which works well…. if i could stop touching my face! Picking always causes terrible breakouts but its like i just HAVE to do it, uggghhhh. Im vowing to never do it from now on, lol I promise!

    Also – I need a really good toner for combination/acne prone skin. Any suggestions? (LOVE your posts on MBB by the way)

Leave a Reply

