Stage Makeup

Hey y’all!

So, quick update and quick question.

Update first:  I’m doing the makeup for a production of Macbeth.  It’s so much fun!  I’ve done theatre makeup a good bit in the past, but the most “exciting” thing I ever got to do was an ’80s version of Taming of the Shrew (bright eyeshadow and punk rock makeup!!)  But in this, I got to order and use fake blood, ash powder, bruise wheels… It’s way more fun that it sounds.

Also, I’m still waiting on the supplies for my airbrush… Hopefully they’ll be in today and I’ll be able to squeeze in a quick vid before I rush off to dress rehearsal.

And those “Reader Questions”… Just need to put the finishing touches on ’em!  I’ll have a lot of downtime at the theatre (as the only real makeup changes are a bloodied and bruised Banquo and a couple post-fight looks), so I should have them all done tonight and they’ll be posted periodically over the next four or five days.

So, my question is:  Have you ever had the opportunity to do SFX makeup, and for what?  What brand/products did you use?

  1. #1 by Anonymous on April 4, 2011 - 21:30

    Delayed response, but Mehron is my standby, Ben Nye is pretty good too.

Leave a Reply

