Russia is…

Wow.  Russia is incredible.  I’ve only been here for two days, and already, I’m in love.  The cold may be a bit harsh, but the food, the people, the fashion, the lifestyle…  I’m proud to call myself a Russian.

Probably my favorite restaurant so far was this Georgian place we went earlier today.  The waitress was so cute; her English was pretty spot on, and she was way friendlier than I would have expected.  I think she started to get a bit nervous when I started speaking at normal speed (assuming that her English was probably a bit better than it was) and started fumbling, but she definitely helped us out a lot.  The food was incredible: there’s this dish called jonjoli (pickled buds from the Caucasus tree) that’s simply one of the best things I have ever eaten.  Salty, a bit spicy, tangy… Delicious.

As for beauty here, I’ve noticed this:

  • Russian women are either model skinny or pleasantly plump.
  • Russian men are either stick thin, slim and toned, or have a bit of a tummy.

Honestly, this is true of everyone below forty.  No joke.

Russian women look immaculate: perfect hair, perfect makeup (like, amazingly perfect), perfect accessorising.  At least from a distance.  Up close, half of them have terrible skin.  I’m not sure if it’s the weather or the makeup they use, but some of these girls could definitely use some laser resurfacing…

The men all look incredible.  Really Russian hair (effortlessly sexy and chic), fantastic Euro-fashion sense, and polished but not in an overworked way.

I have not seen a single person dressed frumpily.  Nothing equivalent to the football jersey, Nike running pants, and sneakers you see so often in the states.  No douchebag chinstrap beards, sunglasses inside, and chains/loafers either.  Everyone looks like they just stepped off a runway.  However, we haven’t left the area around the Tverskaya Ulitsa yet, so who knows how that will change once we venture out.

I haven’t had much of a chance to check out foreign beauty products yet, but I definitely will in the next few days.  Stay tuned for updates in that vein.

Sorry about being so lax with posting; we’re rarely back at our apartment except to sleep or shower, so…  And I don’t get cell reception here, so unless I find a cafe (Кафе) with wifi, I’m completely cut off from home.

I hope to do a few more posts in the coming week, but definitely expect a slowdown until I return on the 27th.  Don’t stop reading though! I’ll know if you do…

 

  1. #1 by Ronda on February 24, 2011 - 21:56

    Sam you really need to scrub the word “sorry” from your vocabulary! Everyone knows that life happens, and you don’t need to be apologizing all the time. It makes you sound desperate and you’re better than that, dude.

    The next time you don’t post, or your camera dies, or whatever, just know it’s understandable.

  2. #2 by Ivy on February 26, 2011 - 17:19

    you lucky thing, i went to st petersburg over the holidays- im learning russian- and i want nothing more than to go back!!

  3. #3 by Megan on February 26, 2011 - 19:30

    Don’t you wish men (and women!) dressed like that in America? Face it, if a guy over here took that much care, he’d be called metro and made fun of. Sad.

    • #4 by finallyindigo on March 4, 2011 - 01:41

      I completely agree! I guess it’s up to us to show ’em how wrong they are… 😉

  4. #5 by Janne on March 8, 2011 - 15:06

    Were you in Moscow?

Leave a Reply

