Testing Out a New Brush

So, a few days ago, I swung by Sephora with two of my friends (just intending to introduce them to a few brands and powder their noses before we went out to dinner) and ended up walking out with the Sephora Professionnel Platinum Airbrush 55.  I’d previously owned this brush, but could never get the hang of it, and gave it to a friend when he became interested in makeup for himself.

The first day using this, my foundation was thin, blotchy, and disappeared in a few hours.  I was mortified (fortunately, it was a short day for me!)  Determined not give up however (I’d seen what it could do on others; it also has a nearly perfect rating on Sephora’s website, which almost never happens), I kept at it, and now, four days later, I think I’ve finally figured out the nuances of successfully employing this fantastic tool.  It’s replaced my Sigma F80 as my favorite brush for foundation (though I never would have though it from the first few days’ results!)

I’ve typically found that it takes me anywhere from three days to a week to figure a new brush out (especially one that’s nonstandard), and if I haven’t by that point, then it’s just not for me.

What about you guys?  How long will you give a brush (or any tool) before returning it?

  1. #1 by Cj on February 10, 2011 - 14:40

    Lol this is funny, My experience is completely opposite of yours, I actually used the 55 brush before my Sigma F80 replaced it! 😛 The 55 is a pretty good brush but the F80 just works better for me I guess 🙂 Side note did you check out the platinum airbrush concealer brush they just came out with?

  2. #2 by finallyindigo on February 10, 2011 - 15:01

    I still love my F80, but since my skin has miraculously gotten so much better in the last few weeks, I’ve just found that it gives too much coverage (which, along with my oily skin, equals disaster!). The 55 gives me just enough coverage while still covering my redness, and makes my foundation look like skin if I take the time to buff it out.

    I really wanted to get my hands on the airbrush concealer and the airbrush foundation brush (just looks like a denser 55), but they didn’t have either of them yet!! I might just order the new kit that has both… 🙂

  3. #3 by Sarah on February 13, 2011 - 05:19

    Hi Sam, I was really glad to see this post, because I’ve been gathering information on brushes in preparation for finally trying a brush for liquid foundation. This was one of the brushes on my shortlist, so I will now definitely get it! You’ve also saved me from getting a paddle brush like the MAC 190 – so good to get a MUA’s perspective! Thank you. 🙂

    • #4 by finallyindigo on February 13, 2011 - 09:42

      Glad I could prevent the sale of another 190!! 🙂

  4. #5 by Sarah on February 13, 2011 - 05:21

    Oh, and would love to hear your tips and technique for using this brush!

    • #6 by finallyindigo on February 13, 2011 - 09:41

      I’m actually going to be doing a video review/tutorial with this brush as soon as my new tripod arrives (hopefully before I leave for Russia!), but here are a few to get your started:
      1.) Hold the brush near the end, not near the ferrule. It’ll be a bit unwieldy at first, but you’ll get a much lighter and more even finish.
      2.) Never push the brush into the skin. You shouldn’t feel the bristles part. Let the brush just barely glide across the skin to get the airbrushed look it promises.
      3.) Buff foundation lightly all over your face, and then go back and lightly swirl over areas until the foundation starts to feel tacky.

  5. #7 by Sarah on February 26, 2011 - 23:47

    Hi Sam, a belated thank you for your tips … your blog is so well-written and helpful – as soon as I found it I read every post!!

Leave a Reply

