Quick and Dirty Mascara Trick

Do you have a mascara that’s absolutely perfect except for one thing: it doesn’t give enough volume?  Try this quick tip to beef up those lashes with minimal effort:

Take a small fan brush and load it up with a translucent powder (colored powders may dull the shade of the mascara).  Close your lids halfway, and tap the powder onto the base of the upper lashes, and then brush it up to the tips. Apply mascara immediately afterwards.

The powder acts almost as a primer, creating a better base for the mascara to cling to and thickening the formula for denser, fuller lashes.

What’s your best trick for working with a great mascara that disappoints in just one way?

  1. #1 by Lucia on February 9, 2011 - 18:46

    I love your blog… such a great job.. =) i would like to know if you can recomend some good foundation for SUPER oily skin!!!?? plz! i need it so much 😦 thnx!

  2. #2 by Lauren on February 14, 2011 - 11:06

    Oh I am so happy I finally thought to look up your blog! I get so excited for your guest posts at Karen’s Makeup and Beauty blog, but I never thought to look and see if you had your own! I love your style of writing and your knowledge base is incredible. Can’t wait to read more!

  3. #3 by Rengirl on February 17, 2011 - 05:47

    I have been doing this for years and I swear by it (even though people think I’m crazy when I suggest it).

  4. #4 by mulberrytea on February 20, 2011 - 00:13

    I always have to layer my mascaras to get the effect that I want, but I have had good results by using a coat of a lighter mascara (like Maybelline Full & Soft) before I apply my normal mascaras.

    Also I heat up my lash curler with hot water to help keep a curl. It is the only thing that gets my curl to stay all day.

Leave a Reply

