Which Brush is the Right Brush?

Inudela wondered what brushes I like to use for different types of foundations.

  • Liquid: I hate those paddle foundation brushes. Honestly, I get the point of them, and I’ve seen beautiful work done with them, but more often I see streaks and uneven application.  Instead, I prefer a dense stippling/buffing brush, which distributes product evenly and gives a poreless, skin-like application.  Try the Sephora Platinum Professionnel #55 brush for sheer to medium coverage, or the Sigma F80 for a range of coverage (is is seriously my favorite brush ever).
  • Cream: The only brushes I use for cream foundations are the Shu Uemura Natural 18 brush or the Sigma F84 (a slightly cheaper, relatively good dupe, although it is synthetic…).
  • Powder: I never use powder foundations, but for those who feel so inclined, I love the Everyday Minerals Flat Top brush. It applies powder evenly and allows it to be built up in sheer layers for fantastic spot concealing.


  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

