MAC Throwdown

Anonymous asked what I thought of MAC products in comparison to other popular brands.

This is a tough one.  I know that MAC is touted as the standard for makeup in nearly every category, and I’m very thankful for it because of that.  However, that’s all I’ve really ever used it as: a standard.

I find their prices exorbitant, and their products are rarely the best I’ve ever used.

For example, their eyeshadows have set the standard for pigment concentration in eyeshadows.  However, you pay $14.50 for only 1.5g of product.  About a year ago, I discovered Ben Nye Cosmetics, a stage and performance company, and ordered one of their eyeshadow palettes, and each of the shadows has as much, if not more pigment in them than the MAC versions, while only costing $6 for 2.7g!  I also find them a bit silkier and easier to blend.

This is a really tough question as MAC has such a wide variety of products.  If you had asked about a certain product, or even category, it would be much easier to compare.  Below, I’ll list some other companies that I think trump MAC in certain categories, and if you want, I’ll go into detail as to why in another post.  All in all, I’m very glad for MAC having established a base line for other companies to work off of, but I can tell you truthfully that my makeup kit does not contain a single MAC product.

Brushes: Sigma or Sigmax, Studio Tools, Crown

Eyeshadow: Ben Nye, Sally Girl

Liquid Foundation: Revlon

Cream Foundations: Graftobian

Lip Color: Revlon, OCC

Powder: Kett, Coty

Let me know in the comments if there are any of these you’d like me to go into more explicit detail about!


  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

