Can I Have a Redo?

It’s 7am.  You’re rushing to dry your hair, throw some makeup on, and get out that door.  Time’s ticking, darling, and you’re not paying as much attention as you normally do.  Big mistake.  Looking in the mirror, you see that your foundation looks splotchy, your mascara has clumped, and your hair is a big, tangled mess.

 

How often does something like this (hopefully not as awful!) happen to you?  About once a month, if I haven’t gotten any sleep, or, conversely, overslept, I’ll look in the mirror after doing my normal routine and just freak out.  Fortunately, I wake up early enough to have time to redo any potential mishaps.  So I’ll grab my oil cleanser, wash everything off, and start completely from scratch (occasionally even misting down my hair with water to start anew on that!)

 

So, does something like this ever happen to you?  And do you completely redo it, or suck it up and live with it for a day?  Any tips for quickly remedying makeup/hair mishaps without a completely new start?

  1. #1 by catsuperhero on March 18, 2011 - 20:25

    Suck it up? God, no. One, I don’t want to look like crap. Two, I don’t want to look as though I don’t know what I’m doing when I do. Three, I’m a little OCD about things like asymmetrical eyeshadow, hair that doesn’t lay just right, or concealer that isn’t quite doing the job.

    I’d rather go out with no makeup than look like I did a half-assed job. Usually I give myself time to touch up, but sometimes, well, sometimes I’m just late. :)

    • #2 by finallyindigo on March 22, 2011 - 12:46

      “Well, sometimes I’m just late.”
      I love it!! Haha, awesome. I’m completely the same way. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve called friends to tell them I got “caught in traffic” or received “a really important phone call” and I’ll be five-ten minutes late, when I’m really upstairs in front of my mirror, frantically fixing some mishap.

  2. #3 by Emily on March 20, 2011 - 10:51

    9 times out of 10 I just suck it up, seeing as I’m responsible for getting myself and my sister to school. Usually during first block I can wrestle my make-up into obeying and do some cute ponytail/bun thing with my hair. If not, then the other girls in band class can usually help me out.

    • #4 by finallyindigo on March 22, 2011 - 12:52

      Thank god for ponytails! They’re honestly the best way to disguise less-than-perfect hair, and with their resurgence on the runways the past two seasons, can even look chic!
      I usually encourage my girl friends to toss some dry shampoo or powder in around their roots, flip their hair upside down, and finger dry it out. This gives some volume and texture up near the scalp, and gets rid of any oilyness. Then, I have em pull it all back loosely into a pony right in the middle of the back of their heads, secure it tightly, wrap a loose strand around the elastic to disguise it, run their fingers from the hairline to the back in little wave motions, and pull a few pieces out around the face.
      Instantly on trend in less than three minutes, and the best disguise for a bad at-home blowout or dirty locks.

  3. #5 by babette on March 21, 2011 - 06:26

    Just had this episode today. Did makeup, hair, dashed to the cab. Flipped out my compact – EEK!! Dried, scaly, flaky skin on nose. Totally forgot I was sneezing the whole day yesterday. In the end I peeled most of the dead skin, slapped some moisturizer I’ve got in my bag, touched up with my mac studio fix – which is a different color than my foundie! But beggars and all that.

    It looked bad but after a while with facial oil starting to infuse the powder it looked okay. But I had a white(r) nose for the whole day!

    • #6 by finallyindigo on March 22, 2011 - 12:56

      Oh my, that sounds awful!!

      Can I just say that even though I hate my oily skin, I’m even gladder not to have any dry patches? It’s the worst trying to disguise them on models, and I can’t even imagine trying to redo makeup over it!

      Because I wear liquid foundation (now, airbrush!!), it’s impossible to touch it up throughout the day with the same product without either bringing my compressor or toting around some serious tools, I usually toss my MUFE Duo Matt and the MUFE HD Kabuki in my bag. The color is close enough to the shade I use for all-over foundation, so it looks absolutely fine for minor jobs, and works great for buffing out smile lines and absorbing mid-day oilies without making me look like I have two different shades of skin haha.

      • #7 by babette on March 23, 2011 - 00:36

        I have extremely oily skin on my T-zone but on bad days, dry patches around jaw, lips, and even on the nose. I blot countless times during the day. I will probably surrender to the lure of more MUFE soon to the grim cry of my wallet. They’re expensive as hell, but son of a gun, they work and #140 *almost* matches my shade perfectly.

        Tell us, Sam, how goes the wear of the airbrush. Long lasting?

      • #8 by finallyindigo on March 25, 2011 - 11:36

        I still haven’t gotten the application down perfectly, but… so far, so good!! A little bit of shine appears after three to four hours, but kinda stays as just a bit of sheen on my cheekbones and nose; certainly not greasy and not necessarily requiring a blot. It does transfer a bit, but what doesn’t on oily skin? My RCMA powder came in today, so I can’t wait to test that out tomorrow and see if it does anything. Once I think I have a good hold on application, I’m going to do a video, and I’ll update you on wear, duration, etc.

  4. #9 by pelvic floor exercises baby development during pregnancy on July 20, 2014 - 23:30

    Spirit Voyage also offers variety of yoga accessories like yoga mats,
    yoga rugs, yoga cushions. Yoga shorts are
    often made of microfibers or a Lycra blend to provide a
    stretch fit. The main cause for your urinary incontinence are the weak muscles that control your
    urethra.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 503 other followers

